Benin (formerly, Dahomey), officially the Republic of Benin, is a country in West Africa. It borders Togo to the west, Nigeria to the east and Burkina Faso and Niger to the north. Its small southern coastline on the Bight of Benin is where a majority of the population is located. The capital of Benin is Porto-Novo, but the seat of government is located in the country’s largest city of Cotonou.

Benin covers an area of approximately 110,000 square kilometers, with a population of approximately 9.05 million. Benin is a tropical, sub-Saharan nation, highly dependent on agriculture, with substantial employment and income arising from subsistence farming. Benin is a member of the United Nations, the African Union, the Organisation of Islamic Cooperation, South Atlantic Peace and Cooperation Zone, La Francophonie, the Community of Sahel-Saharan States, the African Petroleum Producers Association and the Niger Basin Authority.

  • Benin Departaments.
    If you need a vector or wall map of any of the Departaments, just let us know.
    • Alibori
    • Atakira
    • Atlantique
    • Borgou
    • Collines
    • Kuoffo
    • Donga
    • Littoral
    • Mono
    • Ouémé
    • Plateau
    • Zou